The Fruit That Kept Me Hanging

tumblr_o0dnouKChw1uwqv9qo6_1280

The traditional Filipino New Year’s celebration includes offering 12 circular fruits on the dining table which symbolizes wealth and prosperity. In Christian Tradition, the 12 fruits of the Holy Spirit represents these wisdom listed below:

Charity

Joy

Peace

Patience

Benignity

Goodness

Longanimity

Mildness

Faith

Modesty

Continence

Chastity

But the only thing that reminds me of these fruits is that they bring swerte or fortune. My grandmother always rushes to the market right before dinner on December 31st to collect whatever kind of fruits that is round.

This year,  unlike the past New Years that I’ve been through, I saw somewhat a different fruit present on the center table. I was a bit amazed of its texture and I thought it was some sort of a baby pineapple or an unborn curled up armadillo. During before 12 midnight, I saw posts on Instagram with the same fruit that I saw and the tag says “Calape.”

To add up to the mystery, there were no fruits named Calape on Google and what’s worst is that my 2015 was left hanging with this mysterious fruit.

This page was drafted on January 2, 2016. 

Here is the update:

The fruit which kept me hanging was called AGUAJEThe locals called it here (according to the price tag) as CALAPE. I don’t know why but I guess Calape sounds cool.

Aguaje is a palm tree fruit with a deep chest nut in color. The fruit that I opened has a brownish yellow and with a nut on the inside. It is full of vitamin C and it is used to make juice, jam, ice cream and fermented wine.

Because at first I thought it looked like a baby curled up armadillo, I was not able to taste it. Probably next year, or maybe if I see one on the market.

 

9 thoughts on “The Fruit That Kept Me Hanging

  1. Well, I guess you need’a find a suitable web host that y’are comfortable with then try to follow along all the instruction buttons. I suggest wordpress or blogger. Thank you for appreciating.

    Like

  2. Great beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your web site, how
    could i subscribe for a blog web site? The account helped me a
    acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this
    your broadcast provided bright clear concept

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I absolutely love your blog and find many of your
    post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for.

    Does one offer guest writers to write content for you personally?
    I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write
    with regards to here. Again, awesome website!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That’s rather surprising. I read the wiki on it and assumed that it wasn’t sour because it is from a palm tree. Iiiinteresting. I’ve never seen it in a supermarket before. Maybe, it’s because I wasn’t looking for it in particular. Now, I keep my eyes peeled.

    Like

  5. I’ve never tried Aguaje before… if you were to describe how it tasted with comparisons to other fruit, what combination would it be like?

    I find it amusing that the first google page touts its benefits for enlarging the booty. LOL.

    Like

Leave a Reply

