Taiwan Travel Blog

IMG_3323.JPG

One reason why I thought this dream vacation won’t happen because of the expiration date of the Taiwan Visa-Free entry for the Filipinos. Luckily, the agreement was extended for another year and it will expire on the 31st of July, 2020.

Just a bit of a factoid, Taiwan was supposed to be the first country that I should have visited. In 2016, I’ve won a round-trip ticket to Taipei for winning the “Best Blog Entry” award during the launching of the blogging community in the city where I lived. As I thought it would be hassle for me to apply for the VISA back then, I didn’t regret selling that ticket to someone interested. I didn’t had the budget back then, anyway.

Never would I have this wildest opportunity to finally set foot to Taipei. Thanks for my ever dearest, most definitely understanding friend Frisian who booked that flight regardless how obnoxious I was with that decision.

IMG_3171.JPG

Compared to my previous international travels, Taiwan bagged me with surprises as I did only half of the itinerary, so there are still 50% left for me to discover.

I was so proud seeing how Taiwan was brought up by the people who lived here, the influence it had with the mainland  China and how they recover from their history. I had so many respect even if it was the first day of being in Taiwan.

It was as if every street, every corner is worth the camera shot. Every letters, every distortion, every inappropriate subject, the trash, the suburbs looks (as least for me) very interesting.

It was the first time I felt I was a real traveler. One is that I do not look like anybody else at a time and most of the time I got dumbfounded and was lost in translations.

I also had enough time for me to feel inspired, to think, to breather and never thought about my problems. I constantly remind myself that I did this, I went away just to treat myself, to heal myself.

IMG_3198.JPG

I stayed on an Israeli hosted AirBnb in Yonghan Market District, Taipei, Taiwan. I didn’t mind actually that the apartment room was at the 6th floor.

All I was thinking about was how much money I saved while sharing a space from strangers. Nevertheless, the accommodation was comfortable and convenient.

IMG_3204

I was only at the BnB during the evening and had only a quick shower to spend more time around the city. I noticed that most of the normal Taiwanese lives in this comewhat compact spaces but rather had everything they need inside it.

I spent most of my first day in Taipei visiting memorials, night markets, tourist spots such as the Taipei 101 which by far the tallest building that I ever got to see. When I got my eye on the skyscraper, as usual, I spend more or less 15 minutes staring at it so I could have a clear memory of how it looked like in person. I never really appreciated how tall the building was, as it was just that kind of structure that stood over from the rest around it. I only had this moment of truth that it was not just a building, it was Taipei’s icon. Like a huge candle in the middle of the city.

DZKT8668.JPG

This is me trying to take a good picture of the building from Xiangshan District. The place where you get to visit the famous Elephant Mountain. Which is by far the most difficult hike that I had. Not because it was really difficult but because I injured myself while climbing the Mountain. I probably should write a different blog about it as it was most definitely liberating.

I spent the whole afternoon on my first day walking around Taipei 101 to Songshan District and visited the night market.

IMG_3847.JPG

Day 2

I visited Taiwan’s National Palace Museum.

It rained so hard I thought I would never get to enjoy the day. Turns out, carrying an umbrella around the city was just typical and the rain was part of everything around Taipei. I had so much learning going around the museum. This was only the time that I realized that I am in China, even though was was Taipei but its history is definitely China.

I went to Shilin District afterwards to visit a temple on my list, had a meal at a very cozy, with a very good view over looking the people going out from the Shilin MRT Station afterwards.

IMG_4126

Went straight back to BnB after I visited the Shilin Night Market. Was to exhausted as I still got the injured knee, which made my travel a total pain in the memory. It never really made me stop there actually.

Third day, I went to Jiufen, Shifen on a Typhoon Holiday.

Visiting Jiufen was the highlight of my travel to Taiwan. I really thought I would not be able to reach this place. This very sought after place. I dreamed from the past that one day I could visit Jiufen and experience the same energy, the same vibe that has the Spirited Away movie that I have been watching for so many times.

I was in trance when I was in Jiufen, trying to observe the people there although from what it is now, it has this touristy feeling. But if you go farther from the main street in Jiufen, you will notice the old stores there which what makes Jiufen authentic.

GQKA8009.JPG

After Jiufen, I headed to Shifen where the famous flying lanterns were. I did what the normal tourist would do, painting yourself your wishes on the lantern and lighting it up so it could fly and make your wishes come true. Again, the place was too touristy for me. I went a bit further from where the people are and I had a glimpse of the REAL locals living their which is cool. It was just a normal day for them, but for me it was once in a lifetime.

Headed back to the city afterwards trying to beat the typhoon and visited Ximending once again to purchase some stuff for my family and friends back home.

Went back to the BnB and trying out plan the Typhoon as public transports are cancelled.

Last day in Taipei, I went into a shock when I was in the shower. The city was struck with a 6.5 something magnitude and for a Filipino like me, it was not normal. Taking a shower inside the bathroom, naked on a 6th floor was the least scenario I could be ever into. NOT my idea to end my life being naked.

As the weather limited my travel destination, I decided to go out and head to Beitou District. The Hot Spring district of Taipei because what else could I do? Nothing.

IMG_5247.JPG

Every public hot baths were closed. What could you expect from a Typhoon, anyway. So what I did is I just roam around Xinbeitou and decided to go to Taipei 101 just so I could grab that Cream Puffs which I had a taste on my first day in Taiwan. I traveled FAR just to have that! Spent the whole afternoon in Daan District and wandered around just like any back packers would do. Again, I strolled with an injured leg.

I wrote this blog a month after my visit. Which is sad. I could’ve written this while I was in Taiwan but I don’t have that much time when I traveled.

I miss Taiwan even though I am not from that place. I’ve got so many good memories from it.

Traveling really healed me. Remembering how I made all of these possible somewhat gave me a pinch in my heart.

Two years ago, I was just lying on the floor on my sister’s office because I have nowhere to go, no path to follow and no dreams to conclude.

Writing this right now, I feel I have made myself the very gift any person could give themselves; an opportunity to move on from troubles and be healed.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment